Off and running in 2014

I've signed up for the 2014 Cotton Row Run 10K.

I’ve signed up for the 2014 Cotton Row Run 10K.

After doing more races than ever in 2012, I fell off the running wagon in 2013,  participating in only one event.

That event, however, the R-KIDS 5K to benefit HudsonAlpha’s childhood genetic disorders research inspired me, planting the seed for future races.

Since that November run, the seed has grown as I once again incorporated running into my morning walking routine. Scattered showers of confidence helped me overcome the insecurities that followed 2013’s running drought.

Zoey will join the Petersens at the Botanical Garden on Feb. 8.

Zoey will join the Petersens at the Botanical Garden on Feb. 8.

That inspiration sprouted into determination this weekend and I registered for three races. Since I am goal-oriented, the following events count as my personal commitment to be off and running in 2014:

  • Race for Top Dog 5K at the Huntsville Botanical Garden on Sat., Feb. 8. This is followed by a fun run for family and four-legged friends. Zoey will be so excited!
  • The NCAC Superheroes 5K on Saturday, April 12. Come as your favorite superhero, or as you are. And bring the kids for the Fun Run.
  • The Mercedes-Benz Cotton Row Run 10K on Memorial Day, May 26, 2014. Cotton Row participants are encouraged to be patriotic, dressed in red, white and blue. This event includes a 5K and 1-mile Fun Run.

I have also marked my calendar for:

  • The Women’s Half Marathon in Nashville. I ran this fabulous event the first and last time in 2012. I plan on being in Music City for it again on Saturday, Sept. 27.
  • The Monte Sano 15K. Hmmmm, I ran this event for the first and last time in 2012. I’ll be there again, recharged, on Saturday, Oct. 11, 2014.

There will likely be others added to my running agenda.

I am not a fast runner and I don’t run to win. There are definitely physical fitness and healthy living benefits, but running also seems to strengthen my spirit and nourish my soul.

There is also something to be said about being part of Huntsville’s amazing running community. It is full of positive, fitness-focused people who cheer each other on, wishing them success, whether they are shooting for first place, a new PR, or simply the satisfaction of crossing the finish line.

As Glinda sings in “Wicked” (because ever since I saw this fabulous show on Broadway, everything always loops back to “Wicked” ): “I couldn’t be happier!”

About minndixiemom

I'm a Minnesota native with an Alabama heart. My husband, David, and I landed in Huntsville in the late 90s through my former career in TV news. We have two amazing girls, Serina and Sophia, whom we are raising with God's guidance. Besides faith and family, my passions include writing, walking, running, friends and life in general. By day I'm a professional fundraiser for the totally awesome HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Off and running in 2014

  1. Melissa says:

    I’ll see you at some of those races!

Leave a Reply

