The Deep Freeze or the Big Tease?

20140213_092854I’m going for the big tease.

Winter in the South is kind of like seeing a mystical beauty that’s immediately striking, only to discover it is only skin deep.

Take the co-called deep freeze that gripped the Deep South last week. There wasn’t much to it. On Thursday, February 13, children and adults alike snowman 1653979_675818662457248_255003211_nawoke to a winter wonderland in Huntsville and other communities across the region. Families emerged from hibernation, trudging through the beautiful layers of crystallized flakes, that atmospheric phenomenon known as snow.

As a Minnesota native who moved South to get away from these wintry elements, I am not typically among the elated when we have accumulation. It brings back memories of dirty snow, yellow snow, slush, and ice that sometimes lasted until May.

I am, however, entertained by Huntsville parents, including my husband (also a native Minnesotan), who experiment with makeshift sleds, from recycle bins to giant Tupperware lids. Few are effective — and David kicks himself for leaving our legitimate snow sleds in the Land of 10,000 Lakes when we moved back to Huntsville in 2009.

But a mom’s got to do what a mom’s got to do.  So on Thursday, I took the dog, the neighbor kids and my own ecstatic daughters around the block. Jaded as I am, even I marveled at the resplendency of the untouched snow on the slope of Green Mountain where we live.

20140213_092713 20140213_092641 (1)

 

 

 

 

 

But no snow day for me. After our jaunt, I headed to work, leaving David — aka Mr. Mom for yet another day — to care for Serina and Sophia. Throughout the day, I got updates from home, complete with photos of snowmen and snowball fights (thanks, Sarah Grace!).

During last week’s winter weather, my inner-southerner kicked my inner Viking’s behind, and that Thursday morning walk around the block was the only workout I got.

Within two days, however, the snow melted and I was back in running mode. As for the snowman — well, you can see for yourself. (Olaf, if you really want to know, this is what happens to snowmen when temperatures rise above 32 degrees. Enough of the summer fantasies.)

20140216_085915

20140215_091720

 

 

 

 

 

The big freeze turned out to be no more than a big tease for children who wanted to build more snowmen, nail their siblings with more snowballs, and make more snow angels. The sun went into overdrive, melting the snow and revealing a southern winter’s true colors: tired grass and dull leaves, along with splashes of sun dancing on Huntsville’s humble waterways.

I’m okay with that. After all, the Rocket City’s beauty is more than skin deep, shining brightly through its people and spirit regardless of season

About minndixiemom

I'm a Minnesota native with an Alabama heart. My husband, David, and I landed in Huntsville in the late 90s through my former career in TV news. We have two amazing girls, Serina and Sophia, whom we are raising with God's guidance. Besides faith and family, my passions include writing, walking, running, friends and life in general. By day I'm a professional fundraiser for the totally awesome HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology.
This entry was posted in Family, Southern living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Deep Freeze or the Big Tease?

  1. zoot says:

    I told the Donnie that night, “This is the PERFECT snow day because it was enough to play in but not enough to give us cabin fever by keeping us isolated for days!” Great write-up!

    • minndixiemom says:

      Thanks. I have to send you pics of them drinking hot chocolate after the walk. Only Wesley drank water. Apparently he doesn’t care for Swiss Miss! (He did have a few mini marshmallows on the side, though.)

  2. Our Olaf fared even worse since he was a smaller little guy. Nice to Meet you, MinnDixie, and hope to see you at our next bloggle!

Leave a Reply

