Eggland’s Best: Karen Petersen for CEO

Charlie Lanktree is the long-time CEO of Eggland’s Best eggs. He’s done a phenomenal job.

According to an article in Forbes magazine, Eggland’s Best has flourished under Lanktree’s leadership. At present, the company has franchised farms in 30 states and the eggs they produce have annual retail sales of $650 million.

Now it’s my turn. want to rule the roost as Eggland’s Best’s CEO. No, not the Chief Executive Officer. 

I would like to be the company’s Chief Egg Officer.  And you can help.

It’s the Eggland’s Best Chief Egg Officer contest, with online voting playing a key factor in determining the final three participants. So get cracking! Vote every day for the next three weeks!

The final three go up for a vote with videos in November with the first Eggland’s Best Chief Egg Officer announced in December. The winner gets $5,000 and a year’s supply of EB eggs. My two little chicks want the eggs; my husband wants the cash (packing that nest-egg for our future); I want the title.

You can vote daily starting Sept. 9 – Sept. 30. Your vote would mean so much. Me: a CEO! My mother, 79, will be so proud. She won’t ask for details. Seriously, she’ll just tell all the ladies at her next hen party, er – knitting group, that her youngest daughter is the CEO of Eggland’s Best and let them believe that I knocked Lanktree of his perch.

Seriously, I’ve never been a CEO and this is my big chance. All the glory — okay, a fraction of the glory — without the budgets and personnel headaches. I serve my own family Eggland’s Best eggs, which have that cute little stamp that tells you “We each contain a mere 70 calories, and have more of the good stuff, like omega 3 and vitamins E and D, and have 25 percent less saturated fat.

While I enjoy eating EB eggs, I don’t want to breathe, dream and live them like Lanktree must to ensure his company continues to flourish.

I want to consume the eggs; I don’t want them consuming me. I’ll leave that to Lanktree. After all, from what I’ve heard, he’s a pretty good egg.

Thank you for your vote!

About minndixiemom

I'm a Minnesota native with an Alabama heart, reflecting on the past while looking toward the future. My husband, David, and I landed in Huntsville in the late 90s through my former career in TV news. We have two amazing girls, Serina and Sophia, whom we are raising (have raised?? they're growing uyp!) with God's guidance and grace. Besides faith and family, my passions include writing, walking, mental health, and recovery. By day, I'm the Director of Development for WellStone, North Alabama's largest and most comprehensive mental healthcare provider.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eggland’s Best: Karen Petersen for CEO

  1. Pingback: Eggland’s Best CEO: The cluck is ticking | minndixiemom

  2. jamesrk@live.com says:

    Karen- I am so happy you are THE CEO (Chief Egg Officer) – there could not have been a better choice. Your fantastically descriptive and sometimes humorous writings about the contest must surely have been 90% of the choice – you were great. Now, where is my omelet?

Leave a comment